Greenwich DTC’s Nominating Committee Recommends Candidates for Municipal Election

The Nominating Committee of the Greenwich Democratic Town Committee announced on Monday a full slate of candidates for the upcoming municipal elections. Pursuant to state law, the DTC will hold its nominating convention to endorse candidates at its July 21 meeting.

Greenwich is a wonderful community with many amenities and attributes. Each of the candidates vetted by the Nominating Committee has impressive records of professional experience and town volunteer commitment. For all of the Town’s virtues, there are issues to be addressed. As we embark on the campaign season, our candidates will be seeking input from residents on ongoing issues and challenges we face in the future.

The Nominating Committee announces the following candidates for the indicated municipal positions:

• First Selectman: William “Bill” Kelly is an attorney and a longtime resident who has served the Town for over 18 years on the RTM, the BET, and the Board of Education. Bill understands the Town and its government and is committed to Greenwich’s bright future.

“Our focus is the future of Greenwich—all of Greenwich. We want the Greenwich that we know and believe in, not one of politics and rancor; not one of collapsing roofs and downtown gridlock but one of low taxes; great schools and wonderful diversity,” Kelly said. “Janet and I intend to bring a caring, compassionate and cooperative leadership style with forward thinking and creativity.”

• Selectman: Janet Stone McGuigan continues a family tradition of service to Greenwich and is a member of the RTM. A graduate of Cornell University and Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government, Janet’s professional experience includes mediating federal policy disputes. “Bill and I make a great team. Let us show you how we can serve our Town.”

• Town Clerk: Mary “Molly” Saleeby is a lifelong Greenwich resident currently serving her second term on the RTM. She is her District’s Vice Chair and a member of the Budget Overview Committee. Molly also volunteers with the Parks and Recreation Foundation.

A graduate of Mount Holyoke College, Molly’s professional background is administration, marketing, and customer service.

“I look forward to bringing a fresh perspective and new ideas to the Clerk’s office, making for a more efficient and modern experience for all users,” Saleeby said.

• Tax Collector: Trevor Crow, a graduate of Wellesley College and Harvard Business School, began her career in the securities industry before becoming a family therapist.

Ms Crow said, “Building on the success of our past Democratic Tax Collector, I will continue the work of streamlining the tax collection process, collect back taxes, and maintain an open-door policy to hear resident’s concerns.”

• Board of Estimate and Taxation: Laura Erickson, Miriam Kreuzer, Leslie Moriarty, Jeff Ramer, and David Weisbrod are incumbents who have served with distinction on the BET.

“On behalf of the incumbent BET members, we are appreciative of the Nominating Committee’s support to continue to serve the Town on the BET,” said From Leslie Moriarty, BET Democratic Caucus Chair. “We look forward to continuing to contribute our complementary skills and experiences and strong working relationships to the BET, providing the necessary leadership for appropriate investment and financial management for the future of our Town.”

Stephen Selbst is the proposed candidate to replace Elizabeth Krumeich, who is stepping down after three terms of service. Stephen Selbst has lived in Greenwich for 28 years. His experience as an attorney specializing in finance and restructuring leaves him well-positioned to serve on the Town’s finance board.

• Board of Education: Kathleen Stowe is the Vice-Chair of the Board of Education and is recommended for another term.

The Nominating Committee also recommends Laura Kostin and Katherine LoBalbo, both of whom serve on the RTM. All three candidates are committed to continuing the excellence of the Town’s schools while addressing very
real problems, such as post-pandemic issues of mental health and learning loss, aging school infrastructure and delivery of special education services.

• Board of Assessment Appeals: The Nominating Committee recommends incumbents Joe Huley and Howard Richman, as well as Bill Grad.

• Constable: The Nominating Committee recommends incumbents Dawn Fortunato and Donnie Romeo.

Additional information on the slate will be updated periodically on the DTC’s website: