Travelers to CT from 16 States Meet Regional Travel Advisory Criteria; Must Quarantine 14 Days

As of Tuesday, 16 states are subject to the regional travel advisory for Connecticut, New York and New Jersey because they had a new daily positive test rate for Covid-19 higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or are states with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

Travelers to Connecticut, New York, and New Jersey from these states to must self-quarantine for 14-days from the time of last contact within the identified state.

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

This list will be updated weekly as the situation develops across the country.

As for enforcement, it will be up to individuals to abide by the travel advisory.

The travel advisory also applies to Connecticut residents who are returning from a visit to the impacted states.

If you are coming in to Connecticut to a hotel or bed and breakfast, you can do the quarantine there. Connecticut, New York, and New Jersey are all asking hotels to communicate the 14-day quarantine to guests who have traveled from one of the impacted states.

There are exemptions for essential workers.

Workers traveling from impacted states to Connecticut who work in critical infrastructure as designated by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, including students in exempt health care professions, are exempted from the quarantine advisory.

This includes any state, local, and federal officials and employees traveling in their official capacities on government business.

Governor Lamont, in collaboration with Governor Cuomo of New York and Governor Murphy of New Jersey first announced the required quarantine on June 24.