Rescheduled Greenwich Schools Community Service Awards Set for Thursday

On Thursday March 16, from 5:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Greenwich Public Schools students will be presented with Community Service Awards for participation in service activities that help to improve both their school and community.

The awards ceremony will be held at Greenwich High School in the Performing Arts Center, with a special performance by the GHS Chamber Singers

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Salvatore Corda, Board of Education Chair Peter Sherr, First Selectman Peter Tesei, and Senator L. Scott Frantz will present awards to the elementary, middle and high school student recipients. Former GPS Superintendent of Schools (1976-1989) Dr. Ernest Fleishman will present the Fleishman Award for Community Service to a high school student that has made outstanding contributions to the community and high school. The students will each receive State Citations in recognition of their accomplishments. The Awards Ceremony will be followed by a Reception in the Greenwich High School Galleria, just outside of the Performing Arts Center.

The student award recipients and program participants are:

Elementary Schools

  • Daniel Detling & Katie O’Brien – Cos Cob School
  •  Imogen Buck & Emilio Perez – Glenville School
  • Ella Matterazzo – Hamilton Avenue School
  • Alessia Chiesara & Cole Sullivan – The International School at Dundee
  • Logan Jozwiak & Mariela Merida – Julian Curtiss School
  • Leticia Iturriaga – New Lebanon School
  • Gianna Amereno & Griffin Galletta – North Mianus School
  • Cody Baker & Ainsley Carella – North Street School
  • Ava Eberwein & Chloe Eberwein – Old Greenwich School
  • Cole Critchell & Ava Herzog – Parkway School
  • Lily Nandy & Rohan Nandy – Riverside School

Middle Schools

  • Avery Byrne – Central Middle School
  • Fiona Busch, Isabelle Busch – Eastern Middle School
  • Gracen Barter, Nicole Martins, Ila van Schaik – Western Middle School

Greenwich High School

  • Katherine Tracey – Bella House
  • Katherine Tracey – Cantor House
  • Anastasia Heavey – Clark House
  • Devyn Zaminski – Folsom House
  • Jared Livingston – Sheldon House

The Fleishman Service Award will be presented to Greenwich High School’s Emily Bass.

See also Greenwich Schools Celebrate Three Decades of Community Service Champions (2016)

GHS Student Gov VP Community Service, Becca Powell on SRO, St Baldrick’s Day and Relay for Life


Email news tips to Greenwich Free Press editor [email protected]
Like us on Facebook

Twitter @GWCHFreePress