Art Teacher Awarded 2020 Connecticut Outstanding Art Educator of the Year

Greenwich Public School Teacher LeAnn Hinkle was recently awarded the 2020 Connecticut Outstanding Art Educator of the Year by the Connecticut Art Education Association.

Ms Hinkle, an art teacher at Julian Curtiss School and North Mianus School, was selected for this award in recognition for her significant contributions to the field of art education.

Greenwich Public School District Coordinator for the Arts and Music Laura Newell said in a release, “We are so proud that Le Ann was selected for this prestigious award. Our schools have such dedicated and passionate arts teachers, instilling a love of learning in our students and helping them to grow and develop their artistic abilities. Le Ann always goes above and beyond for her students, and it is great to see her recognized for her continuous contributions.”

“It is an honor to have the opportunity to represent Connecticut art educators and advocate for visual arts education,” Hinkle said. “I am incredibly blessed to be in a district that continues to support my work with art educators across the country. My students are the brightest stars, always my inspiration for seeking out new solutions and innovative practices to best meet their needs.”

The CAEA Outstanding Educator Awards recognize visual arts educators for demonstrating excellence in the classroom, active participation and leadership at the local, state, and/or national level, publications and/or exhibits, advocacy for the arts, and other art education related accomplishments.

Nominees for these awards must be member of CAEA/NAEA for 3 consecutive years, and must spend at least 51% of their working day in the job division for which they were nominated. Nominees for the CAEA Outstanding Arts Advocate and Service to the Profession awards do not need to be members.

“She works miracles with children. Not everybody is artistic,” Peter Bernstein said of Ms Hinkle during the Thursday night special BOE meeting.

See also:

Greenwich Schools Distinguished Teacher Recipients 2020 Announced