Greenwich Schools Distinguished Teacher Recipients 2020 Announced

On Wednesday the Greenwich Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee announced the  recipients of the 2020 Distinguished Teachers Awards:

• Dace Ashcraft, North Mianus School, Advanced Learning Program
• Barbara Bartlett, Eastern Middle School, Health
• Colleen Drumm, Western Middle School, English, Humanities
• Jessica Keller, Greenwich High School, Social Studies
• Erin Montague, Western Middle School, Guidance Counselor
• Lori Mulligan,  Greenwich High School, Mathematics

The Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee, Inc., established in 1984, has worked on the selection process for this year’s recipients for the last eight months. The Committee selects the Distinguished Teachers from nominations made by colleagues, parents, students, administrators and/or community members based on criteria outlined in the nomination packet available at

Due to the current closure of school buildings, all in-person recognition planned for the Board of Education Meeting and at the Distinguished Teachers Awards Ceremony is postponed until further noticed.

The Distinguished Teachers Award Committee Chair Patricia Carey said, “Although we are unable to celebrate these outstanding teachers in person, their tremendous accomplishments in the classroom and their dedication to our students will not go unrecognized.”

Ms Carey went on to thank all those who submitted nominations and congratulate our slate of Distinguished Teachers for this year.

“This program is always a refreshing reminder of the excellent educators we are fortunate to have in our Greenwich Public School system,” she said. “We look forward to being able to celebrate these teachers at a formal ceremony in the future.”

Nominations for Greenwich Schools Distinguished Teachers are submitted by students, parents, and colleagues in early March each year. Each member of the Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee reviews every nomination packet.

At the annual “vote meeting” in April, DTAC members submit their ballots anonymously and without discussion. The ballots are tallied and the six teachers with the most votes are selected to receive the Distinguished Teacher Award.

The Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee includes no more than 20 members, with representatives from The Board of Education, The Greenwich Education Association, The Greenwich Organization of School Administrators, the PTA Council, and members of the community including representatives from the Kiwanis and other community organizations, parents and many previously named Greenwich Distinguished Teachers.