Hockey Community Turns Out in Force for Rurak Scholarship Foundation Event at Cobber North

Hundreds of family, friends, former players and hockey fans turned out to celebrate Chris Rurak and support the scholarship foundation (CRSF) established in his name at Cobber North on Saturday, September 25, 2021.  

Scholarship recipients Will Noble and Thatcher Danielson attended the event.

Great auction items, dozens of raffle items and very generous donations made the event an overwhelming success.

It’s amazing how the hockey community turns out and supports such worthy causes and the CRSF is very grateful.

Hucker entertained the crowd with great tunes and is a hockey fan favorite.

The Chris Rurak Foundation was established to award an annual scholarship to a Greenwich High School student-athlete. The foundation recognizes the commitment and hard work of these student-athletes who make valuable contributions to their school, their team and teammates, and the Town.

“We hope their development will continue and we want to help alleviate some of the financial burden of higher education programs,” the foundation said in a statement.

Coach Rurak led with his heart and believed that hockey was an incredible vehicle to teach life lessons. He recognized that the numbers on the scoreboard were just a small component of the game and felt that the most important outcomes were developing perseverance, leadership, and above all friendships.

Consider making a donation today by visiting

2021 CRSF scholarship recipients Thatcher Danielson and Will Noble with Jennifer-Walsh Rurak. Contributed photo
Cardinal Hockey Broadcast crew: Chris ‘Jonesie’ Jones, Andrew Boer and the ‘Voice of Cardinal Hockey’ Rob Burnett. Contributed photo
CRSF Board members, Craig Wingrove, Richard Fulton, Jennifer-Walsh Rurak, her son’s Matthew Rurak & Christopher Rurak and CRSF board member Jeb Buck. Contributed photo.
Hockey Greats! Tom Fiorita & CRSF board member Jeb Buck. Contributed photo
GHS volunteers Julia Costello & Lila Fulton. Contributed photo.
Auction Winner: Angela Swift