September 11 Service in Cos Cob Park Will Honor Victims of 2001 Terrorist Attacks

The community is invited to gather on September 11 in Cos Cob Park at 8:30am for a 21st anniversary remembrance service of the day so many innocents were lost to a horrific act of terror.

Among those who perished were 32 people with ties to Greenwich who each left behind their families and friends a legacy of love and ultimate sacrifice.

After the tragedy, the community united and built a September 11th Memorial in Cos Cob Park. It was 100% privately funded and was offered as a gift to the town.

The service will start promptly at 8:46am with a cannon fired from Riverside Yacht Club and bell ringing, noting the time the North Tower was hit.

Elected officials expected to attend include Greenwich First Selectman Fred Camillo, Selectwoman Lauren Rabin, State Representatives Kimberly Fiorello, Steve Meskers and Harry Arora, State Senator Ryan Fazio, US Senator Richard Blumenthal and US House of Representatives Jim Himes.

Lt James Bonney played the bagpipes as he led multiple honor guards to the September 11 memorial in Cos Cob Park. Sept 11, 2017 Photo:Leslie Yager

Jim Bonney, a bagpiper will play, and after the Pledge of Allegiance there will be an opening prayer by Reverend Margie Nugent.

The National Anthem will be sung by The Melody Men, followed by an introduction by Stephanie Dunn Ashley, CEO American Red Cross, MNYN Chapter and remarks by Joe Kelly.

After a procession up to the monument, the Honor Guard will salute and representatives from Police, Fire, and EMS will each lay flowers and a Ceremonial American Flag at the monument.

At 9:59am a bell will ring and cannon fired, marking the South Tower falling. At 10:03am, a bell will ring and cannon fired, marking the crash of the United Airlines flight 93 in Shanksville, PA.

The annual ceremony paying tribute to those who were lost will conclude with a benediction, retreat of the colors and the final bell and cannon at 10:28am marking the North Tower falling.

The American Red Cross will be on hand providing water and comfort.

Following the remembrance service, the Honor Guard will lead the procession and guests past the waterside pavilion where flowers will be made available to lay at the base of the Memorial.

Throughout the day, all are invited to walk through the labyrinth to pay their respects. Flowers will be available in the pavilion for those who visit the site on their own.

In loving memory of Bryan Craig Bennett, Stephen Patrick Cherry, Kevin Francis Cleary, Kevin P. Connors, Brian Cummins, Christine Egan, Michael Egan, Ulf Ramm Ericson, Bennett L. Fisher, Thomas Edward Galvin, Steven Glick, Donald Freeman Greene, Pedro Grehan, James Douglas Halvorson, Erik Hans Isbrandtsen, Joseph Anthony Lenihan, Adam J. Lewis, Peter R. Kellerman, Teddy Maloney, Francis Noel McGuinn, Christopher D. Mello, Cheryl Monyak, Lindsay Stapleton Morehouse, Robert Walter Noonan, Mike A. Pelletier, Michael C. Rothberg, Jason E. Sabbag, Stacey Leigh Sanders, Frederick Varacchi, Gregory Kamal Bruno Wachtler, Martin Phillips “Buff” Wohlforth, and Charles Alan Zion.