2016 YWCA Spirit of Greenwich Awards Honors 12 Outstanding Woman Volunteers

Over 300 people attended the 2016 YWCA Spirit of Greenwich Awards on September 28 at Greenwich Country Club.

The event honored 12 outstanding women who exemplify volunteerism and philanthropy in our community.

“Strengthening our community is a vital part of the mission of YWCA Greenwich. With the help of community partners, and the selfless contributions of the women we honor tonight, we are making a difference in the lives of all members of our community, and we thank you,” said Mita Spilo, interim President and CEO, YWCA Greenwich.

The 2016 Spirit Co-Chairs, who spent almost a year planning the festivities, are Nisha Hurst, Lauren Walsh, YWCA Leadership Council Member, Joy Lautenbach, and YWCA Board Member, Jane Batkin.

The 2016 Spirit of Greenwich honorees are Robin Bennett-Kanarek, Nancy Better, Michelle Binnie, Eunice Burnett, Susan Evans, Tracy Holton, Mary Jacobson, Mary Jeffery, Dee Mayberry, Anne C. Noonan, Suzanne Prunier, and Judith Wertheimer. Many local organizations have benefited from their enthusiastic and transformative efforts, including Arch Street, The Greenwich Teen Center, Boys and Girls Club of Greenwich, Breast Cancer Alliance, Bruce Museum, Den for Grieving Kids, Greenwich Country Day School, Green Fingers Garden Club, Greenwich Historical Society, Greenwich Library, Junior League of Greenwich, YWCA Greenwich, and many others.

Each Honoree received a YWCA Spirit Award certificate and citations from the offices of Governor Dan Malloy, Lieutenant Governor Nancy Wyman, Attorney General George Jepsen, Senator Richard Blumenthal, Senator Christopher Murphy, Congressman Jim Himes, First Selectman Peter Tesei, and Senator Scott Frantz.


Email news tips to Greenwich Free Press editor [email protected]
Like us on Facebook


Subscribe to the daily Greenwich Free Press newsletter.