PTA Council’s Essence Committee Names Annual Award Winners for Volunteerism

On Wednesday the Greenwich PTAC Essence Committee, along with the PTAC Board of Directors, announced the nominees and winners of the 11th Annual Essence Awards.

The Essence Awards was created to acknowledge individuals who tirelessly and admirably work to better the Greenwich Public Schools, whether in a position of leadership or as a member of a team.

This year there were seven nominees and two winners were named, one for a traditional Essence Award and the other for a Lifetime Essence Award. The Lifetime category was created in 2017 to specifically honor an active, long-standing impactful PTA volunteer who has contributed over the course of many years through a variety of positions and schools.

The 2021 Recipient of the Essence Award was Joan Lynch.

The 2021 Recipient of the Essence Award was Joan Lynch, current Greenwich High School PTA Membership Chair. Joan has served as Parkway School PTA Treasurer and President, Eastern Middle School PTA Treasurer, PTA Council Treasurer and Special Events Co-Chair.

She is a motivated and efficient volunteer, serving as an inspiration to others with her “can do” attitude. Joan is the epitome of a PTA volunteer, and her service over the years has been significant, consistent and meaningful.

Cricket Dyment, 2021 Recipient of PTA Council’s Lifetime Essence Award

The 2021 Recipient of the Lifetime Essence Award was Cricket Dyment, current Past President of PTA Council.

Cricket has been volunteering in Greenwich Public Schools for 20 years. In addition to numerous committee roles throughout the schools and PTA Council, Cricket has served as North Mianus School PTA Treasurer, Eastern Middle School Assistant Treasurer and Treasurer, Greenwich High School PTA Co-President, PTA Council First VP and President.

Cricket’s kindness, enthusiasm and upbeat approach to life is evident in all the ways she gives back to the school and to the community. Her legacy will be rich, and it is her genuine kindness and optimistic spirit that will stay in our minds, and will inspire others to continue in this manner.

The following amazing volunteers were also honored at the Recognition Ceremony for their contributions to their individual schools and PTA Council committees: Emily Brown, Riverside School; Gia Burton, Old Greenwich School; Cricket Dyment, Greenwich High School; Jennifer Frimere, Hamilton Avenue School; Joan Lynch, Greenwich High School; Diana Orbanowski, Central Middle School and Frances Wu Nobay, North Street School.