High School Seniors in Greenwich Named National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists 2019

In Greenwich a total of 29 students are semi-finalists for the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The semi-finalists were announced on Wednesday. They include 16,000 high-school seniors who will go on to compete for the scholarships that will be offered next spring.

A press release from the National Merit Scholarship Program said over 90 percent of the semi-finalists will be named as finalists for the scholarship.

Of those finalists, about half will win a scholarship.

More than 1.5 million students applied for the highly competitive scholarship and the semi-finalists represent less than 1 percent of all high-school seniors in the US.

State by state the number of semi-finalists calculated in proportiol to that state’s percentage of the total graduating seniors in the country.

At Greenwich High School there were 14 semi-finalists: Julia Blank, Cynthia Chen, Nyle Garg, Lucas Gazianis, Phoebe Hartch, Toby Hirsch, Timothy Kim, Melanie Leguizamon, Kathleen Piotrzkowski, Margaret Tone, Kira Wang, Zachary Wang, Melissa Woo and Kyle Xiong.

Commended students at GHS were Stanley Araki, Alexander Bein
Mark Bourgeois, Emma Burstiner, Sara Craver, Thomas Fenaroli, Jessica Franco,Joshua Frumin, Victoria Fu, Daniel Gove, Kian Jain, Matthew Jester, Akshay Joglekar, Cole Kaicher, Elliot Kim, Nathan King, Thomas Lewis, Henry McGannon, Matthew Meyers, William Owens, Emil Perdue, Anne-Emilie Rouffiac, Andres Ruh
Shun Sakai, Brennan Scorelle, Nithya Shenoy, Justin Speaker, Peter Stewart, Matthew Sullivan, Amelia Szabo, Isobel Wilson

At Sacred Heart Greenwich Valentina Grether and Pamela Rosenburgh were semi-finalists

At Greenwich Academy Isabel Allard, Kathryn Austin, Holland Ferguson, Laura Kapp, Sophia Klein, Margaret Meyerson, Sophia Moore, Sydney Pittignano and Hanna Tulchinsky were semi-finalists.

At Brunswick Nicholas Dow, Pierce Henderson, Jamison Meindl and Nicholas Wolanske were semi-finalists.

In February students will learn whether they make it to the finalist stage. Scholarship winners will be announced in April 2020.