GHS Announces National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Each of the Greenwich High School students named National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSC) Semifinalists in the Fall of 2018, have advanced to Finalist standing in the competition.

All finalists will be considered for National Merit Scholarships to be offered in 2019. Approximately half of the 15,0000 Finalists will be offered scholarships.

From the NMSC website:

In February, some 15,000 Semifinalists are notified by mail at their home addresses that they have advanced to Finalist standing. High school principals are notified and provided with a certificate to present to each Finalist.

All winners of Merit Scholarship awards (Merit Scholar designees) are chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments—without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

A variety of information is available for NMSC selectors to evaluate: the Finalist’s academic record, information about the school’s curricula and grading system, two sets of test scores, the high school official’s written recommendation, information about the student’s activities and leadership, and the Finalist’s own essay.

GHS 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program Finalists:

Hans Nicholas Iversen
Ronny Iversen
Joe Konno
Jovita Li
Nicholas Liu
Christopher McDonnell
Michael McNulty
John Petit
Ajax Shung
Rahul Subramaniam
Derrick Xiong
Catherine Yang

About National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT)—which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.