Join the Friends of Byram Park on Sunday, Jan 9, 2022 from 10:00am to 2:00pm for a “Hot Chocolate in the Park” event.
Meet near the Christmas Tree Recycling drop off in the Byram Park parking lot for some hot chocolate, courtesy of Executive Deli, serving Byram for over 17 years, and learn about Friends of Byram Park.
Friends of Byram Park’s mission is to advocate for Byram Park. They are dedicated to thoughtful stewardship to preserve and enhance Byram Park’s natural environment, beauty, and engagement with the Greenwich community. The Friends will support the Town’s commitment to care for Byram Park and initiate projects related to its mission.
Here is some history of the park courtesy of Friends of Byram Park:
1918: The Town of Greenwich purchased the Silas and Willis Ritch quarry to create a community park. This 20-acre parcel was located between Byram Shore Road and Long Island Sound. The quarry site had supplied Byram Blue Stone over many years for projects in the tri-state area including iconic structures like the Brooklyn Bridge. The beach was constructed from sand brought by barge from Long Island.
1975: Byram Park was enlarged with the purchase of 10 additional acres from the William Rosenwald estate. Known as “The Anchorage,” the estate included a residential pool.
Although the house was taken down in 1978, the pool on the estate served as the Town’s only outdoor swimming pool for almost 40 years. Byram Park also includes a marina, lighted baseball field, tennis courts, and a playground.
2011: The Junior League of Greenwich entered into a public-private partnership with the Town to build a new community pool and revitalize Byram Park. The new pool opened in 2018.