Greenwich High School Book Awards Honors Passionate Readers

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 4.59.57 PMA time honored tradition going back 50 years, the Greenwich High School Book Awards, took place Thursday afternoon in the media center. After a welcome from GHS headmeaster Dr. Chris Winters, the event, organized by media specialist Alexandra Stevens, benefited from a slide show prepared by Susan Morris.

Greenwich Free Press editor Leslie Yager was honored to present the Trinity College book award to Jenny Tibberts, whose favorite genre is dystopian and science fiction.

Toward that end the Trinity College Fairfield County Alumni Association selected The 5th Wave, a work of young adult science fiction, written by Rick Yancey. Critics have compared the book, the first in a trilogy, to The Hunger Games.

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 5.01.17 PM

Jenny Tibberts with her parents Janet and Mark at the Book Awards,May 26, 2016 Credit: Leslie Yager

The Trinity College book award requires that the GHS English Department select a junior who not only demonstrates high scholastic standing, but also commits to service at GHS.

Jenny is part of the Playwriting Club where she pursues her passion for creative writing among a community of writers. She is also president of the Sewciety Club, the GHS sewing Club.

The group has made scarves that they sell and donate the proceeds to charity. They’ve also made place mats for the elderly, and sewn teddy bears using recycled materials including sweatshirts.

Jenny, whose favorite place to read is in her family’s TV room – with the TV off – will occasionally read a novel online, but only if she has to, as she much prefers hard copy books.

Here is a full list of GHS juniors who received book awards on Thursday. Congratulations to everyone!

The Brown University book award was presented to Adriana Knight by Anne Drake.

The College of Mount Saint Vincent was presented to Aaron Shur by Lisa Dempsey.

The College of the Holy Cross book award went to Megan Imperato and was presented by Jen Maxon.

The University of Michigan award was presented to Kristen Lodato by Rob Frantione.

The Columbia University book award was presented to Adam Roitman by Robert Conlan.

The Dartmouth University book award went to Sophia Salzer, though she was unable to attend the ceremony.

The Denison University book award was presented to Natalie Lilien bu Susie Baker.

The Gettysburg College book award went to Henry Foster and was presented by Rod Saggese III.

The Greenwich Historical Society award was presented to Simone Whooley by Davidde Strackbein.

The Harvard College award was presented to Olivia Luntz by Richard Kelly.

The Middlebury college Award was presented by Chris Winters to Abigail Feda.

The Mount Holyoke College Award was presented from Sarah Commaroto by Louisa Green.

The Oberlin College Award was presented to Katherine Tracey by Sandy Waters.

The Princeton University book award was presented to Brittany Banker by Elizabeth Johnson.

The St. Lawrence University Award was presented to Emily Bass by Matt Hartigan.

The Smith College book award was presented to Madison Arnold by Lauren Siket.

The Trinity College book award was presented to Jenny Tibberts by Leslie Yager.

The University of Chicago book award was presented to Christopher Thomas by Diane Fox.

The Vassar College book award was presented to Elizabeth Murray by Anne Drake.

The Wellesley College Award was presented to Sofia Vittoria by Deb Smith.

The Wesleyan University book award was presented to Megan Plancher by Karen Boyea.

The Wheelock College book award was presented to Olivia Fakundiny by Claudia Foster.

The Williams College book award was presented to Alexandra Reice by Carol Sutton.

The Yale University book award was presented to Anna Brecher by Thomas Hartch.


Email news tips to Greenwich Free Press editor [email protected]
Like us on Facebook
Subscribe to the daily Greenwich Free Press newsletter.