Statewide Leadership Award Presented to Greenwich Board of Ed

The Greenwich Board of Education was presented with the Connecticut Association of Boards of Education (CABE) Level One Leadership Award during the annual convention CABE / CAPSS (Connecticut Boards of Education/Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents) in Mystic last month.

Accepting the award from the Commissioner of Education, Stephan Pryor were Greenwich Board of Education (BOE) Chair Barbara O’Neill, BOE Vice-Chair Jennifer Dayton and BOE members Laura Erickson, Debbie Appelbaum and Peter Bernstein, and Superintendent of Schools William S. McKersie.

The Board was recognized for their ability to function as a team, work effectively with the Superintendent, follow best practices in policy implementation and exhibit leadership. Board Chair Barbara O’Neill extends her personal thank you and recognition to the current and previous Boards for their efforts. She said, “The protocols and policies judiciously put in place by prior Boards enables the current Board to function at the high level recognized. Without the contributions of all who serve and have served on the Greenwich Board of Education to promote excellence in the Greenwich Public Schools, this recognition would not have been possible.”

CABE rewards Boards of Education who receive the Leadership award twice within four years with a Board of Distinction award. In pursuit of that recognition, the current Board will strive for continued growth in leadership and hopes to be recognized by their peers again next year for their continued efforts on behalf of the GPS students, staff, administrators, and Greenwich community.