Greenwich Public Schools: 2014 Distinguished Teacher Awards Winners Announced

The Greenwich Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee, Inc. is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Distinguished Teachers Awards:

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 8.06.36 AM

Havemayer Buildig, home to the Greenwich Board of Education. View of former GHS, now Town Hall in background. Credit: Leslie Yager

* Mara Adelsberg, Greenwich High School, Guidance/AVID/9-12 *

* Cheryl Iozzo, North Street School, Art/K-5 *

* Sheri McGowan, Riverside School, Grade 1 *

* James M. Micik, Eastern Middle School, Science/6 *

* Robert Walsh, Eastern Middle School, English/8 *

* Lin Young, Greenwich High School, Mandarin Chinese/9-12 *

The Distinguished Teachers Awards Committee, established in 1984, has worked on the selection process for this year’s recipients for the last eight months. The Committee selects the Distinguished Teachers from nominations made by colleagues, parents, students, administrators and/or community members based on criteria outlined in the nomination packet.

The Recipients will be recognized at the Board of Education meeting, Thurs., April 24th at Riverside School at 7:00pm.

The Distinguished TeacherS Awards Ceremony will take place at Central Middle School on Tuesday, May 6th at 4:00pm.

2 rows of school busesatGHS