Eight Greenwich High School Seniors Eligible for US Presidential Scholars Program

Eight Greenwich High School seniors have been identified as candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program and are eligible to apply to become semifinalists.

Each year over 4,500 candidates are identified for the component of the program that focuses on academic achievement, based on having scored exceptionally well on the SAT or the ACT exams.

Eligible students are US citizens and legal permanent US residents graduating or receiving a diploma between January and August of the current program year, who have taken the SAT or ACT Assessment on or before the preceding October.

This year 95 students were selected as candidates from the State of Connecticut.

Greenwich High School US Presidential Scholars Candidates:
• Cynthia Chen
• Phoebe Hartch
• Tobin Hirsch
• Raina Jain
• Kira Wang
• Zachary Wang
• Melissa Woo
• Kyle Xiong

“We take great pride in the accomplishments of this group of students who have been identified in this nationwide recognition program,” said GHS Headmaster Ralph Mayo in a release from the district. “They are hardworking, diligent individuals who continue to help our school and community set the standard for excellence in public education.”

In mid-April, approximately 600 students from across the US will be identified as semifinalists.

Their submission materials are then forwarded to a Commission for review in hopes that they will be named one of the 161 US Presidential Scholars.

The US Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.