36 GHS Students Named NMS Commended Scholars

Earlier in the month 13 GHS Students were named 2021 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. This week, the district announced 36 Greenwich High School students were named as NMS Commended Scholars.

Commended students are named based on a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists.

According to the NMS Program, there are about 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation this year.

Although they will not continue in the 2021 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of the more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary PSAT/NMSQT.

“We are so proud of our National Merit Commended Students,” said Greenwich High School Principal Ralph Mayo. “These students are hardworking, talented and truly deserving of this prestigious recognition. I know our entire team at GHS shares in the excitement we have for them.”

Austin Benison
Lilliane Bjerke
Trent Boone
Mark Chen
Grace Collier
Madeline Cook
Charlie Decker
Pieter Feenstra
Leena Jhamb
David Katz

Jaywoo Kook
Dylan Maloney
Gabriella Mendoza
Gabriella Meyerhoff
Dylan Mini
Madeleine Park
Uma Pendkar
Sofia Pronina
Mark Razanau
Caroline Regan
James Rinello
Hadley Rosenberg
Seldon Salaj
Benjamin Schinto
Olivia Schnur
Lena Thakor
Katherine Tibberts
Austin Towle
John Trahanas
Nathalie Williams
Joshua Winston
Alexander Ye
Colin Ying
Andrew Zhang
William Zhang
Tiffany Zheng